Family Life – I like you the way you are…

In the stillness of the night…it’s almost 3am,

I see my baby boy’s toys strewn across the floor.  Behind me is my wife’s desk, a mess…like spaghetti.

During the day, I’ve looked at these things and lamented.  I’m by nature an organized and neat person.  My wife and baby boy are organized mess people.  They usually can’t find what they need right away, but eventually do.  I’m not saying my way is really significantly better.  But I like things the way ‘I’ like them.  I didn’t say anything today.  But sometimes I do.  And it makes my wife feel bad.  I really shouldn’t do such things.

Well, in such moments as these,  a little voice inside me says that I should appreciate my wife and son, just..the..way..they..are.

One day, I’ll miss those toys all over the floor.

‘Savor these moments.  Don’t get angry over them.’

Yes.

If I get mad at baby about this, soon, I’ll just feel bad about that.  Regret will set in.

Maybe I’m just too neurotic about neatness.  Maybe GOD put my wife and I together to cure this ill of mine.  I should just take my medicine like a good boy.

Anyways, can’t being too organized be a time killer too?  With all we have to do, instead of organizing…can’t we be having more fun?  Yes!

……………………………………..

Well wife and son, this is the real me, saying “I like you both the way you are.”

‘Don’t change on account of me.’

‘Don’t let me change you.’

‘Be yourself.’

‘Be happy with who you are.’

‘I’m sorry if I make you feel bad.’

‘I’m not always right.’

‘Sorry.’

‘I love you both.’

‘Good nite!’

-daddy

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Family Life – I like you the way you are… « Be The Hands Apple Boy

Leave a Reply

