Church! What’s It Good For?

I’m cynical at worst when it comes to the Churches of Jesus in the US.  They always say, there are no perfect churches, cause there are no perfect people.  Yes, that is true.  I currently don’t belong to any one church, although I have a home church that I visit sporadically.  My truer home church is my family and my parents – we are a self contained unit.  And it has been said that there is another church or temple within you.  That illustration, if you want a clearer one, what comes to mind is the movie Aeon Flux.

Aeon Flux is able to go to a place within her, where she meets with a Judge type person who gives her commands and direction.  The true church is within you.  Have you gone to that place?  Do you go there daily?  Maybe thrice daily?  The reason, I boldly say, I don’t belong to a church now, and that I am reluctant to join, is that I am being brought up to keep churches inline with the Spirit and Holy Scriptures.

My anger and disappointment with the visible churches was bordering on out of bounds, so the LORD shared these two points with me, and maybe more with you.  The church guards and teaches some very important TRUTHS.  I live out being one with my wife, being obedient to my parents, being obedient to authorities within reason, etc.  Many people have not heard of these things or even tried them.  But I am living proof that these Biblical truths lived out bring blessing to your lives.  So what the church does, teach, is very, very, very, important and IS worthy of support if you can.  What I don’t like is the guilt, manipulation, expectation of support from some in ministry that borders on extortion.  Sorry.

The second point from the LORD is that the church is where we can practice some of the rules or commands of the LORD.  Through working with people, through serving, we can fine tune our knowledge of the Ways of the LORD and learn to be obedient.  That is also very important.  It seems unrelated, but coming to mind now is the fact that when GOD revealed and proclaimed His Name to Moses, it started with:

the LORD, the LORD,
compassionate: caring about the suffering of others.
gracious: kind to others of lower social class.
slow to anger,
abounding in love and faithfulness: there is a limit to how many people I can have quality relationships with, but NOT the LORD, He can take care of us ALL.
maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion, and sin,
Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.

Remember when the LORD Jesus said those that work for Him, but call, LORD, LORD don’t really know Him. He was talking about His character. Sometimes, I don’t know if I’m too harsh or take a strong position, but often I see that my wife who was a nonbeliever until just recently, more closely reflects the LORD’s character and nature. It’s humbling.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

