The Ministry of Imperfection,

There are many reading this blog who are far along with the LORD Jesus, for those who don’t understand what I am about to say, don’t worry about it, you will, please just listen,

At some point in your life, a switch goes off, you turn around, and life isn’t about you anymore.

For me, that point came late in life, after my car accident, when I was still living with my parents. The title of this blog post to me means that sometimes you have to fail, sometimes you act the fool, sometimes you let others win, sometimes you take the blame or the bill, do you understand?

Christians especially sometimes get caught up in being holy and perfect and they are unwilling to suffer for Christ. What did Adam do after Eve ate the fruit? He ate it too, I’ve read accounts saying that he loved Eve so he ate and joined her in imperfection rather than be separated. Let me bring the example back down to earth. A very simple example is in teaching kids. Sometimes to raise a child’s self-esteem and confidence or even to just get them to do it you have to not act like you know it all or can do it all. I tell my kids I can’t do it on my own, I need their help. I tell my kids I don’t know or I say something wrong so they can be right. It seems strange, but it really works. And now if you think back, HEY, your parents probably did that with you too?!

In these days, leadership means different things to different people. To me, and I really think I’m getting old. Leadership isn’t about being superman or wonder woman anymore. Leadership is more about caring about other people and making sure everything is all good with everyone. The question then is, “If I’m taking care of everyone else, who takes care of me?” That’s a good question and I don’t know. Maybe you have the answer?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

