Current Events: The Tom and Katie Split,

What do I have to say about this?

Divorce is no new thing to Americans or anybody. Now that I’m mature, I’ve realized that divorce, man-woman shtuff has always for the most part been the same. The good thing is that nowadays, women are more empowered and independent than before. Which, somewhat, begs the question. Are the teachings of Jesus on divorce still valid?

Jesus was a LOVER of women and defender of the weak and impoverished. He was made wrongs right and freely gave to all who came to Him. When we read His Words on divorce it seems He is saying no divorce at all, for any reason. But I read Him as saying,

‘Do not abandon women when they still love you, if they still need you, if you have responsibility to them and your children.’

I recently have a complicated relationship, marriage with my wife. And when I hear my parents’ stories and remember stories of immigrants and their temporary splits, it seems separations are really no big deal and commonplace in the life cycle of a marriage. When I was emotional about it, I thought,

I have blessed my wife mostly, and even if we were to split now, FOR GOOD, wouldn’t we have blessed each other and improved each other since we met? Also, if the split is mutually decided to be mutually beneficial, then there is no choice but to move forward. There always is the possibility of getting back together again. And on the flipside, not my marriage, of course, but sometimes at least for a time, a couple needs to be apart so they can remember how much they love each other and not take each other for granted. As long as both know, that they REALLY want to be together and they are meant to be. Sometimes, it just isn’t working, and you just split.

But reality and sanity returned to me, and I realized what my little family needs to do. My wife and I love each other to the end,

Whatever the case maybe, we can breathe easier, Christians, knowing or thinking,

‘We have to admit it is getting better, getting better all the time…’

In some sense, Christians who believe very strongly in the infallibility and innerancy of the Bible, and only the Bible are in my opinion having tunnel vision,

The Bible is only one book, and it contains writings in it from thousands and thousands of years ago,

In our early Christians years, we were strong to say the Bible is NOT out of date. Now, I am saying, not so strongly, but respectfully, that some aspects of it ARE out of date. And we have to know which ones. That is what makes us discerning and mature and intelligent and useful members and elders of Christ. Because as elders and interpreters of the Bible, the younger members look to us to know what is right and wrong, and even HOW TO THINK. Teaching wrong doctrine and example can really, really wreak havoc in the community and these are real people’s lives.

Let me end by saying, I believe that the Bible is THE TEXT. But, we shouldn’t be fearful to venture out and read others. And we shouldn’t be fearful to teach, knowing that GOD knows our hearts. And I’d like to finalize by saying, I am teaching here, but hopefully my style and words will be more GOD, and Jesus and less me. I don’t want to teach, I don’t want to give advice, because I realized that advice is personal. What worked for you, WILL NOT work for someone else, the best advice is always to empower people and let them and encourage them to figure things and do things for themselves. And show them how to find help if they need it.

LOVE,

P.S. – Oh yeah, and it’s sad that Tom and Katie split. But, I’m sure Suri will still see them enough and have the best. Tom and Katie may get back together again, they may not, but I pray that Jesus blesses and keeps them always,

P.S.S. – Yes, and if Christians made more common sense, perhaps more regular folk, people would join up. Sometimes, our thinking although noble and admirable is not workable in this world. We have to be both noble and workable. Or something like that. Sorry it’s a Saturday and I’m hungry,

P.P.S.S. – Chomp,

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

